You are here

JEC Group announces the 2014 winners of the JEC Asia Innovation Awards

JEC Asia 2014
4 Nov 2014
Celebrating the use of innovation in composite materials(Singapore Suntec Center - November 17, 2014)

Eleven Awards in total

This year, during JEC Asia - Composites Show and Conferences (November 17-19, 2014), 8 companies and their partners will receive an award for their composites innovations in a ceremony on November 17.

The winners broach a wide expanse of domains. They were selected from the following categories: Raw Materials, Prepegs, Process, Automotive, Storage, Sustainability, Recycling and Compression Molding.
Moreover, 2 Singaporean key players will receive an Academic Award and a Life-Achievement Award. The awards will be attributed respectively to Republic Polytechnic for its involvement in developing technical expertise for the composites industry and to Prof. T.E. TAY for his contribution of outstanding scientific significance to the field of composites over his whole career.
In addition, 1 student Award will support tomorrow’s Composites Innovator as it will put forward a student final paper on the Composites field.


The composites market is booming in Asia representing in 2013 not less than 50% of the world production and the JEC Innovation Awards aim to highlight innovative companies and processes among all the stakeholders. This year, we are very proud of the quality of the Innovation Awards Competition applications for their richness and the complexity of the processes they present” said Mrs. Frédérique Mutel, JEC Group President and CEO.


The jury of composites experts has selected the best composite breakthroughs, based on their technical interest, market potential, partnerships, financial & environmental impact and originality. The decision to give prominence to these projects was based on their atypical nature and various noteworthy aspects.


The JEC Innovation Awards ceremony will highlight 11 innovators on stage, including an Academic, a Life Achievement and a Student Award, on Monday 17 November at 4:00 pm at JEC Asia Composites Show and Conferences (Suntec Center, Singapore).


The event has been reshaped into a brand new ceremony and will be open to medias, exhibitors and visitors.


The Innovation Awards Ceremony is sponsored by Aviation Week and JEC Composites Magazine

Winners of the 2014 JEC Asia Innovation Awards

  • Raw Materials Category Winner: UHT Unitech Co., Ltd (Taiwan)
    High-Modulus PAN-based Carbon Fiber
  • Prepregs Category Winner: Gurit (UK)
    Innovative Long-Shelf-Life Prepreg Systems
  • Process Category Winner: Dongsung Chemical Co., Ltd (Republic of Korea)
    High Cycle Speed Molding Method
  • Automotive Category Winner: KC Tech (Republic of Korea)
    Partners: Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre with Boeing (UK), SsangYong Motor Co., Ltd. (Republic of Korea)
    Microwave Curing of a CFRP Acoustic Cover for Automotive Applications
  • Storage Category Winner: German Aerospace Center - DLR (Germany)
    Partner: Helmholtz Association (Germany)
    Innovative Composite Winding Technology for CNG Storage in the Automotive Industry
  • Sustainability Category Winner: Lavender Composites (Australia)
    Partners: Archer Cork Skateboards (Australia), Amorim (France), Sicomin (France), Bcomp® (Switzerland)
    Cork Composite Skateboard
  • Recycling Category Winners: FRP Recycling Center, JRPS (Japan)
    Partners: Japan Fuji Recycle Center (Japan), Goko Butsuryu Co., Ltd. (Japan), Sumitomo Osaka Cement Co., Ltd. (Japan)
    Waste FRP Recycling
  • Compression Molding Category Winner: HOPE Technik (Singapore)
    Ultra-Thin Sheet Molding Compound Application
  • Academic Category Winner: Republic Polytechnic (Singapore)
    Tapping into the Potential of Composite Materials for the Future at Republic Polytechnic
  • Life Achievement Award: Tong-Earn Tay, Head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at NUS (Singapore)
    T.E. (Tong-Earn) Tay is a Professor and Head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, National University of Singapore. He is the founding Director of the Centre for Aerospace Engineering at the department.