You are here

SGL honors professor Klaus Müllen with the Felcht Award for services to graphene research

News International-French

22 Jul 2013

The Carbon Company – has honored Professor Klaus Müllen with the Utz-Hellmuth Felcht Award for his research into the synthesis of tailored graphenes. Professor Müllen, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, received the award on July 18 at the International Carbon Conference in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Dr Gerd Wingefeld, a member of the SGL Group Board of Management, said: “We present the Utz-Hellmuth Felcht Award to honor outstanding scientific and technological contributions in the field of carbon and ceramic materials. The extremely strong, electrically conductive carbon material, graphene, has immense application potential in computer chip manufacture, as a composite material for energy storage in batteries and fuel cells, and as a catalyst. Professor Müllen and his team have made an important contribution here. The synthesis process developed by him makes it possible for the first time to produce graphene nanoribbons with precisely defined shape and size.”

Graphene is a very good electrical conductor, ultralight, stronger than steel, chemically resistant, and virtually transparent. In 2010, Konstantin Novoselov and Andre Geim were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for their work on this two-dimensional carbon material. In 2013, the European Commission chose “Graphene” as one of its first largescale research projects to be funded with up to a billion euros over 10 years under the “Future and Emerging Technologies Flagships” (FET) initiative.

About the Utz-Hellmuth Felcht Award
The Utz-Hellmuth Felcht Award was founded in 2010 in honor of the former Supervisory Board Chairman of SGL Group, Utz-Hellmuth Felcht. 2 The Award is given in recognition of individual scientific and technological contributions that have had recent significant impact on the field of carbon and graphite materials or have represented a scientific breakthrough. The Utz-Hellmuth Felcht Award is presented biennially at the International Carbon Conference held by turn in Asia, Europe, and the USA. Selection of the awardees is undertaken by an International Award Committee composed of six renowned scientists and persons of high standing in industry. The Utz-Hellmuth Felcht Award was given for the first time in 2011 – to Professor Walter de Heer from Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, GA (Georgia Tech) for his services to the development of graphene-based nanoelectronics.

About the Awardee – Professor Klaus Müllen
Klaus Müllen gained his PhD in Chemistry at the University of Basel and received his “habilitation” in 1977 at ETH, Zürich. In 1979 he became a Professor at the University of Cologne, and in 1983 at the Johannes-Guttenberg-University, Mainz. Since 1989, Professor Müllen has been Director of the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz. He has won many awards, including the Max Planck Research Prize (1993), Philip Morris Research Prize (1997), Nozoe Award (2001), Belgian Polymer Group Award (2006), Innovation Award (2008), and Society of Polymer Science Japan International Award. With over 1500 published articles, numerous patents, and regular presentations at conferences and symposia worldwide, Professor Müllen ensures dissemination of his knowledge and a lively exchange of information and ideas. As President of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (Society of German Chemists) (2008-2009) and through many national and international research projects, he has made an important contribution to the further development of polymer research.

More information: